No SVG support No SVG support No SVG support

The new Latvian Dice Chess champions – Roberts Hops and Jekaterina Hlopkova

Chess Results

Roberts Hops and Jekaterina Hlopkova became the new Latvian “Dice Chess” champions, winning the second Dice Chess Latvian championship that took place on Sunday, November 5th, in Riga, at the “Park Inn by Radisson Riga Valdemara” hotel.

To the delight of all “Dice Chess” enthusiasts, the Latvian championship returned after a three-year break due to the “Covid-19” pandemic. In the first championship in Latvian history in 2020, the federation president Vladimirs Svešņikovs and Anda Krauze were the winners. Both had to relinquish their champion titles this year, making way for others.

The tournament’s prize fund was 1500 euros, of which the winners of the first three places received 250 euros, 170 euros, and 150 euros, respectively. The championship gathered 83 participants, mostly youths and children. The venue was carefully chosen to be spacious, modern, and well-lit. There were 9 double rounds (two games with each opponent, totaling 18 games) with a time control of 5 minutes + 5 seconds per move.

In a fascinating competition and friendly atmosphere, the tournament was won by the 14-year-old Roberts Hops, a student of the Riga Chess School, who scored 14 points in 18 games, the same as his age. Ernest Treimanis, who finished with the same number of points, received the silver medal this time, while Vsevolods Ščadilovs came in third with 13 points. Jekaterina Hlopkova was the best in the women’s category, scoring 12 points and finishing in a high fourth place overall. A total of 16 female players participated in the championship.

All results can be viewed at

The Latvian Dice Chess Championship, impeccably organized and supported by our generous sponsors ‘San Pellegrino’ and ‘Riga Chess Club’, offered participants the opportunity to recuperate between games with an assortment of tea, coffee, sweets, and refreshing cold drinks. The laureates and other interested parties could admire the unique design trophies explicitly created for this championship.

Anyone who wants to try the exciting and unpredictable “Dice Chess” game is invited to do so at All information about the upcoming tournaments and the Dice Chess Federation is available at

The idea of the Latvian championship belongs to the public benefit organization “Dice Chess Federation,” which collects donations. If you also wish to donate to this cause, you can do so.

Bank details: AS Swedbank LV62HABA0551046707117

Thank you!


Main prize winners:

  1. Roberts Hops – 14 pts
  2. Ernests Treimanis – 14 pts
  3. Vsevolods Ščadilovs – 13 pts
  4. Daniils Aleksejevs – 12 pts
  5. Miķelis Vingris – 12 pts
  6. Jaroslavs Orlovskis – 12 pts
  7. Ivans Kuļešovs – 11 pts
  8. Ivans Koļesņikovs – 11 pts

Women’s prize winners:

  1. Jekaterina Hlopkova – 12 pts
  2. Larisa Gordijeviča – 12 pts
  3. Stefānija Dombrovska – 11 pts


  1. Ivo Saksis – 11 pts
  2. Ģirts Tenis – 11 pts
  3. Anatolijs Aļipovs – 9 pts


  1. Ansis Kantāns – 11 pts
  2. Dmitrijs Pogorelovs – 11 pts
  3. Emīls Tabors – 11 pts
  4. Filips Freibergs – 11 pts
  5. Damirs Pogrebnojs – 11 pts

Youngest participants:

Pāvels Šeršņovs (2016.) – 7 pts

Anna Čirkova (2015.) – 9 pts


Other news